bug with RENAME function

Chitchat about x² / 2X products

Moderators: fgagnon, nikos, Site Mods

bug with RENAME function

Postby iceBringer » 2010 Mar 07, 16:38

hi

RENAME wont work if name of the file is 2nd column in explorer2
and i'm receiving MSG in MSG line " This column cannot be renamed in place; please put Name column first"

i dont think this is right.....

Image


Windows Explorer DONT HAVE that kind of problem with the size on the FIRST place and Name on the 2nd????

Image


can we expect bug fix of that or back to the windows explorer?
iceBringer
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010 Mar 07, 16:18

Postby nikos » 2010 Mar 07, 16:42

i would call this a 'feature'
if you want to rename with name not in the first column, use <ctrl+F2>
User avatar
nikos
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 15122
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK

Postby ox4 » 2010 Jun 25, 19:06

a "feature"? you're joking, right?  A "feature" would be the shortcut key working everywhere in the panel, regardless of the order you've placed your columns.  I've been sitting here for days trying to figure out why my shortcut key wouldn't work.  This is a bug.
ox4
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010 Jun 25, 19:01

and its worse than that...

Postby sandstones » 2011 Sep 01, 18:49

Evaluating xplorer2, and got it somewhat configured to what I want, which is the full name in a single column, not split name and extension.

Then slow double clicking to edit the full name, gets this same error.  Seems like the full name is not considered the 'name' and it won't accept the rename.

So, I went to the forum and found this thread that indicates not only was this  problem complained about over a year ago, but the developer has an attitude about fixing it.

Why would I want to buy a product from someone with the that attitude?  Its not about how you conceived of the product, its about how potential customers would want to use the product.  And you just lost one.
sandstones
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011 Sep 01, 18:41

Postby FrizzleFry » 2011 Sep 02, 00:33

I confirm that the full name column in the first position produces the mentioned error.

You can get the name.ext with the name column if you disable hide extension for known file types in explorer Folder Options/View.
User avatar
FrizzleFry
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Posts: 889
Joined: 2005 Oct 16, 19:09

Control-F2 isn't a fix

Postby ayanami0 » 2013 Jan 02, 07:04

Hi,

When name is not at the first column, and pressing F2 or slow dick to rename gives out a window error sound, is "error" enough to my understanding.. I love this product, but, I am sorry... it's an error.

F2 key, and slow click is a very clear gesture of renaming within windows environment.  they are not used for modify date, nor modify size.  So this feature shouldn't be disabled just because the order of column is being changed.

Even if it is not an error... not able to double click or pressing F2 to rename is very inconvenient to users..  

It would be really nice to see a change to this behavniour, thanks!
ayanami0
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2006 Feb 03, 17:28

Postby nikos » 2013 Jan 02, 08:24

when NAME column isn't first you can rename with CTRL+F2
User avatar
nikos
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 15122
Joined: 2002 Feb 07, 15:57
Location: UK


Return to x2 / 2X General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests